The IEBC Board of Directors – Bill Piland, Myron L. Pope, Derek Price, Donna Scott and Mark Fulcher – provides guidance, leadership and expertise that help IEBC develop its strategic direction and advance its mission.

Bill Piland, PhD, Board Chairman

Professor Emeritus of Community College Leadership
San Diego State University
San Diego, CA

Bill Piland

Bill Piland has worked in higher education for almost 50 years, beginning as a community college business instructor in 1967. He has held positions of Business Division Director, Dean of Career Education and Dean of Instruction in a number of community colleges. A university professor for 34 years, Piland’s teaching career has included Illinois State University, the University of Arizona, the University of British Columbia and San Diego State University. He has published more than 100 journal articles, books and monographs on community colleges.

Myron L. Pope, EdD, Board Member

Chief of Strategic Engagement
Oklahoma Department of Human Services

Myron L. Pope

Myron L. Pope, Chief of Strategic Engagement, Oklahoma Department of Human Services also teaches in the African and African-American Studies and the Adult and Higher Education programs at the University of Central Oklahoma. His background includes positions in the community college system of Alabama, University of Alabama, University of Oklahoma and the University of Central Oklahoma. He has provided extensive consulting services, including serving as a consultant/evaluator with the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

Dr. Pope has conducted a variety of research on higher education and related issues, had numerous articles published in scholarly journals and books, and presented regionally, nationally, and internationally.

Derek V. Price, PhD, Board Member

Principal Owner

Derek V. Price

Derek Price is a national leader in strategic thinking for institutional transformation and systems change, especially the use of data-driven strategies to improve program and organizational effectiveness. He has a strong policy, research, and evaluation background and works on a broad range of policy and practice issues around postsecondary education and workforce development.

Dr. Price’s prior positions include director of higher education research at Lumina Foundation for Education, where he helped launch Achieving the Dream: Community Colleges Count – a national initiative to improve student success at community colleges.

A well-known speaker and author of numerous publications, Dr. Price works through his consulting firm, DVP-PRAXIS LTD, with private foundations, national nonprofit intermediary organizations, colleges and universities.

Donna Scott, MSSW, Board Member

Associate Executive Director Emerita
All Kids Alliance
Houston, TX

Donna Scott

The ALLIANCE is the outgrowth of a Houston P–16 council. Before joining the ALLIANCE as its first staff person, Donna Scott was a P-16 Field Specialist for the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. She has worked in community organizing in Louisville, Kentucky; Austin, Texas; and Houston and participated in starting a variety of nonprofit organizations. Well-known for her many years as a development officer in higher education, she has served on the founding board of the Planned Giving Council of Houston and as vice president of the National Society of Fund Raising Executives, now the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Houston Chapter Board. She earned the Certified Fundraising Executive credential in 1986 and the Certified Financial Planner designation in 1994.

Mark Fulcher, MBA, Board Member

Training and Development Consultant

Mark Fulcher has worked in training and development, management development, organization development, and instructional design for more than 30 years. He has held positions with San Diego City Schools, UC San Diego, and UCSD Medical Center, and has been a consultant to colleges and universities, local government, high-tech and biotech companies, and automotive manufacturers. Mark’s education includes a Master of Business Administration from the University of Redlands and a Bachelor of Arts in Management Science from Duke University.